comments 2

Highlights from 2014

2014 proved to be a great year! Even more so, God proved to be a GREAT God. I am excited to share some highlights of special things that God did this year for which I am so thankful.

  1. The birth of my second child, my #BigGuy Carson. It was long and rough pregnancy for my wife, being very sick pretty much all the way through and going two weeks past due. But she did an awesome job fighting through and an amazing job delivering a 10 lb 2 oz baby! Carson already has been an amazing blessing to our family. I didn’t know how ready I was to have a second child, but what I really wasn’t ready for, was the incredible bond already formed between he and his 2-and-a-half year old sister, Lili. They play and laugh together so much already, it’s a joy to a Dad’s heart that I couldn’t have ever imagined until it was realized. This is something I will cherish as a father for ever. I love the family God has blessed me with so much, and am so grateful!
  2. The progress of my sister Shannon McCarthy’s health. I have mentioned this before in previous posts, but I can’t thank God enough for what He has done to restore her health! When we first learned that she would need a bone marrow transplant, I was hoping that I would be a match, or one of our Shannonother siblings, so that the transplant could take place right away. I did not want it to be prolonged. Then finding out that none of my siblings or myself were a match to her for the transplant, was discouraging. But God already knew, and already had someone ready. Very quickly a match was found and the transplant was being prepared. Since, the doctors have told my sister that her recovery is one of the best that they have ever seen. That. is. God. And I praise Him for  it, and for taking care of my sister! I am also grateful for the wonderful help that her husband, my brother-in-law, Aaron McCarthy, has been! It’s hard to watch a family member or any loved one to struggle physically, especially when there’s nothing you can do. But I’m grateful that there’s a God who the Great Physician who can heal and restore health! For more information, please visit ihope1212.org, and follow them on Facebook.
  3. The adoption of Emma Blair. My brother & sister-in-law, Matt and Elisabeth Blair, have this year finally been able to see their desire to adopt Emma fulfilled. It was something they had been tryingBlairs to do for a very long time. It had been prolonged and pushed back several times turning it into a tiring and trying time for them. I am thankful, that now this precious little, curly-haired girl is able to be have a life of being raised by good Christian parents, in a Christian and happy home, and a part of all of our lives! This true for the other two precious girls they have also adopted, Jocelyn and Cassie! Yes, this is their third adoption, and now a family of seven =O =)
  4. GRIBT. 2014 was an exciting year at GRIBT! I am so thankful to be a part of it and to have the privilege to serve and minister here. A big highlight for me this year was VBT. In previous years, due to work I was unable to be at VBT for the full week. This year, I was able to. And it was amazing. I have been involved in Vacation Bible Schools and Times before, all my life pretty much. But it is special here. And I still look back at the children I was able to teach, get to know, and spend time with, with a smile. There’s nothing quite like seeing children learn about God and what He did and can do for them! And there’s nothing quite like spending a week with lots of exciting kids! I can’t wait to see what VBT2015 holds!

Looking back proves one thing to me – 2015 can be victorious because God proved Himself to be victorious for me. He stepped in and blessed and provided in so many ways. He proved Himself. He does over and over again. That means we CAN trust Him! Romans 8:37 says, “Nay, IN ALL THINGS we are more than conquerors THROUGH HIM that loved us.” Whatever it is that you want to accomplish in 2015, you can do it THROUGH HIM. Don’t leave Him out. In our own strength, we fail. In HIM, we are MORE THAN CONQUERORS. He can give me, and you, a victorious 2015! So let’s go!

2 Comments

  1. Blair Family

    Thanks for sharing!!…and honored that we could squeeze into the highlights :). We are all so blessed!

Leave a Reply

