comment 1

What I’ve Learned From A Great Dad

It is said that “anyone can be a Father, but it takes someone special to be a Dad”. Today is Father’s Day and I want to say how thankful I am for my father, my Dad. I am thankful for the way he raised me, what he taught me, his being there for me for every step I have taken in my life. He provided a life of joy, happiness, and set me up for success as a man. Whether it is advice I need as a husband or father myself, ministry advice, or help on the basketball court during a high school game, he has always been there for me. I want to sum up a few things that I have learned to be imperatives for every dad, things I have learned from my dad. A good dad:

  1. Loves. The Bible says in John 15:123 “Greater love hath no man than this, that a man lay down his life for his friends.” This is clear proof of the love that Jesus Christ has for us his children. It is the ultimate picture of love. This is the kind of love that is necessary for a dad. A dad must be willing to put others first. He puts his children and his family and their needs before his, willingly. Because he loves them. This is what love is. This is what a dad is. This is what my dad proved to me.
  2. Teaches. A dad is like the writer of Proverbs. He is teaching and instructing his children that they not go in the way of the folly, the foolish, the unwise. That they not follow the path of that which is destruction. A wise son will hear the instruction of his father, but a wise father will give the instruction. I am thankful that my dad taught me even the everyday things like how to shoot a basketball, throw a football, catch a football, drive a car, tie a tie, the proper length to hem my pants, not to sag my pants, how to shine my shoes, to treat a lady, how to be above reproach, read my Bible, put together a sermon, peach a sermon, serve the Lord. The list could go on and on.
  3. Trains. The author of Proverbs said, “Train up a child in the way he should go: and when he is old, he will not depart from it.” Training takes effort. Training takes patience. It takes more than what many are willing to give. Time, attention, repetition, discipline. He teaches what is necessary, not what is easy. I am thankful that my dad trained me, and led me in the way that I should go.
  4. Counsels. Counseling never ends. Ask my dad =). I am thankful that I have a dad that I know I can go to and receive the counsel that I need to hear.
  5. Works hard. A dad is not one who is afraid to get his hands dirty and work hard. Things don’t always come easy. A dad is willing to work as hard as is necessary. I’ve seen my dad wear many hats and many different uniforms along side and in addition to the one he wanted to wear most. Sometimes the other uniforms are necessary for a time so that you can wear the one that you want to wear most. My dad has taught me through his example to work hard, as hard as is necessary to be a good dad.
  6. Is faithful. 1 Corinthians 4:2 teaches “Moreover it is required in stewards, that a man be found faithful.” A dad is a steward of his home. He must first be faithful to God. Next, to his wife, and then to his children. What credibility does a father have with his wife if she sees that he is not faithful to God. And what credibility does a dad have with his children if they do not first see his faithfulness to their mom? Thank you dad for being faithful.
  7. Plays. Don’t forget this one. Many do. Many don’t leave time for play. But you kids need it. I am thankful that my dad played with me. Shooting hoops, playing catch, even playing NBA Live back in the day (which he cheated at). I have found that playing with your children is imperative to a healthy home. My pastor, Pastor Jeff Amsbaugh always says, “a family who prays together and plays together stays together.” My dad and I still play together, usually it’s golf now, and he still cheats. =)

Thanks for being a great dad! Happy Father’s Day!

1 Comment so far

Leave a Reply

